images (2)

UPDATE: Landslide victory for Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, the newly elected Speaker of Parliament

Former defence minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula has been elected as the new Speaker of the National Assembly (NA).

Following Thursday’s election by secret ballot, Mapisa-Nqakula received 199 votes, while the Democratic Alliance’s nominee, Dr Annelie Lotriet received 18 votes.

The presiding officer, Judge President John Hlophe said there 17 spoiled voted from the election.

Thursday’s election of the new Speaker of the National Assembly (NA) was held by secret ballot because two nominations for the position had been made.

The African National Congress (ANC) nominated Mapisa-Nqakula, while the Democratic Alliance (DA) nominated Dr Annelie Lotriet.

The presiding officer, Judge President John Hlophe confirmed that since more than one nomination was made, the election would be done by way of a secret ballot.

Hlophe further confirmed that only the members of parliament who were physically present in the house were eligible to vote.

The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) had issued a statement on Wednesday afternoon announcing that they would not participate in the election proceedings for a new Speaker of Parliament.

The DA has previously stated that it was of the view that Mapisa-Nqakula is not fit for the position of Speaker of Parliament.

ALSO READ: Parliament to elect new Speaker on Thursday after Thandi Modise’s move

On Wednesday afternoon, the New Nation Movement NPC and citizens led by Dr Onkgopotse JJ Tabane and Lukhona Mnguni added their voices opposing the nomination by the ANC of Mapisa-Nqakula for the position of the Speaker of the NA.

READ MORE: Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula’s nomination for Speaker of Parliament opposed


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *